2021 Organising Committee

Claire Hewat

Organising Committee

Claire Hewat, Chief Executive Officer, Allied Health Professions Australia (AHPA)

Claire joined AHPA in 2018 after previously holding the role of CEO of the Dietitians Association of Australia for 14 years and prior to that as a Director of Community and Allied Health in South Western Sydney. Claire has significant governance experience having held directorships on the Boards of DAA, AHPA and NASRHP. Claire has also had many years of experience as an Advanced Accredited Practising Dietitian in clinical, food service, community and public health nutrition, diabetes education and private practice and in various aspects of health service management mostly in rural areas. Claire currently represents AHPA on a number of high level national committees.

Mary Joyce

Organising Committee

Mary Joyce is the Head of Department of Social Work, for the Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group in Western Australia.

She holds a Masters of Business Administration and has held clinical, strategic planning and management roles in the health sector. Mary has a strong commitment to optimising the delivery of social work services, particularly to the most vulnerable, by research, advanced learning and supervision.

Mary has a keen interest in Information technology, she is the Chairperson of the “Allied Health System” used in metropolitan WA and is a representative on state and national bodies regarding allied health data collection.

Adj. Prof Heather Malcolm

Organising Committee

Heather Malcolm is the Chief Allied Health Advisor for NT Health. An experienced Physiotherapist, Heather has lived in Darwin since 1993 and commenced in Health in 2012. Heather has held roles in strategic policy, clinical quality and clinician engagement areas, as well as managing diverse medical portfolios including genomics, health technology and cancer care, before moving to the Allied Health leadership role in 2019. In 2020, Heather also became the Functional Lead for the implementation of the NT Health Virtual Care Strategy. She undertakes national accreditation work for the Australian Physiotherapy Council and is a panel member for Ahpra.

Cath Maloney

Organising Committee

Cath has a background in physiotherapy with over 25 years of clinical experience prior to moving into health service management roles. Cath has worked in public sector, private and non-government settings including running her own practice, delivering allied health services across central and southern NSW. Cath completed a Master of Science in Medicine (Pain Management), is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD) and Women and Leadership Australia. Over the past 12 years Cath has held leadership and management positions in state and Commonwealth government and with a remote Aboriginal Community-Controlled organisation, and served 6 years on the Board of a rurally-based Primary Health Network. Cath is now the CEO of SARRAH, a role she has held since April 2019.

Charmaine Manewell

Organising Committee

Charmaine has worked in Queensland Government for over 17 years, previously for Queensland Transport and Main Roads and currently for Queensland Health. She has a varied health background, with a Bachelor in Behavioural Science from Griffith University and previous work experience as a dental assistant and dispensing optician.

Charmaine has previously managed the Health Practitioner Research Capacity Building Program and its associated bodies of work, and is currently supporting the work underpinning the Allied Health Clinical Education and Workforce Training Plan 2020-2029 on behalf of the Allied Health Professions’ Office of Queensland. She is a member of the NAHC2021 Organising Committee as the representative from the NAHC2019 Organising Committee.

Rachel Resuggan

Organising Committee

Rachel Resuggan is a renowned leader in Allied Health with extensive expertise in governance within the field. Working for St John of God Health Care as the National Manager Allied Health, she is building strong foundations to provide Allied Health professionals with optimum environments in which to enable deliver excellent care. Her passion for Allied Health governance comes from years of leading Allied Health services, including the North Metropolitan Area Health Service in Western Australia. Rachel is the inaugural Chairperson for the Catholic Health Australia Allied Health committee.