Supporting the provision of evidence-based care – developing a national ACS capability framework

Bianca Miras1, Dr Karen Page2, Prof David  Brieger3

1Alfred Health, Caulfield, Australia, 2National Heart Foundation of Australia, Melbourne, Australia, 3Concord Hospital, Sydney, Australia

The provision of safe quality patient care depends on the capability of the health service. The National ACS Capability Framework outlines health system requirements needed to implement evidence-based patient-centred care articulated in the ACS clinical guidelines and new Clinical Care Standard.

The framework’s purpose is to ensure there is capability to deliver evidence-based care for those experiencing an ACS event no matter where they live in Australia. This paper provides an overview of the framework development; the model and service categories; and implementation strategies.

An expert consensus approach facilitated by the Heart Foundation was used to develop the framework. Extensive consultation and a comprehensive literature review were undertaken to inform an expert roundtable discussion, which identified content and format for the resource.

Expert consensus was reached on the following key elements:

  1. A framework model organised into service categories that reflect the key components of ACS care and system linkages. Four service categories, including one pre-hospital and three in-hospital care categories, which reflect the type of health facilities that receive patients with chest pain and/or symptoms suggesting ACS.
  2. Health system requirements for service categories outlining recommended services, workforce, support services and linkages necessary to deliver care to patients with varying degrees of complexity.

The capability framework, for launch in August 2015, will support the implementation of the ACS Clinical Care Standard. It will be an invaluable advocacy tool recommending system requirements that are practical and achievable.


To be confirmed

NAHC Conferences

2007, Hobart (7th NAHC)

2009, Canberra (8th NAHC)

2012, Canberra (9th NAHC)

2013, Brisbane (10th NAHC)

2015, Melbourne (11th NAHC)

2017, Sydney (12th NAHC)

2019, Brisbane (13th NAHC)

Conference Managers

Please contact the team at Conference Design with any questions regarding the conference.

Photo Credits: Tourism & Events Queensland

© 2017 Conference Design Pty Ltd